

NETHERLANDS

Update: 2nd July 2024



Area: 41.543 km²

Borders: 1,027 km (Belgium 450 km, Germany 577 km)

Coastline: 451 km Capital: Amsterdam Official language: Dutch



Population: 17,811,291 inhabitants (2023)

Natural change rate: 0.4% (2023)

Population repartition: 15.3% under 15 years old, 20.2% over 65 years old (2023)

Foreign residents: 3% EU nationals, 3.4% non-EU nationals (2019)

Migration rate: 2‰ (2023 est.)

First time asylum applicants: 39,710 (2023)

Life expectancy: men 80.5 years old, women 83.4 years old (2023)

Ethnic groups: Dutch 75.4%, EU (excluding Dutch) 6.4%, Turkish 2.4%, Moroccan

2.4%, Surinamese 2.1%, Indonesian 2%, other 9.3% (2021 est.)

Religions: None 54.1%, Catholics 20.1%, Protestants 14.8%, Muslims 5% (2019 est.)

Source: Eurostat



Currency: Euro

GDP: € 1,034,086 million (2023) GDP per capita (PPP): € 43,420 (2023)

GDP growth: 0.1% (2023) Unemployment: 3.6% (May 2024) Inflation: 2.7% (May 2024) Public debt: 46.5% (Q4 2023)

Budget balance: -0.6% of GDP (Q4 2023)

Stock of foreign direct investment from the entire world: 516.2% of

GDP (2022)

Source: Eurostat, OECD, BNP Paribas



PAYS-BAS



Constitutional monarchy, parliamentary democracy

Head of State: King Willem-Alexander since 30th April 2013; he

presides over the Council of State.

Head of Government: Dick Schoof (unaffiliated) was appointed Prime Minister on 28th May 2024. He took office on 2nd July 2024 and leads a PVV, VVD, NSC and BBB.

Bicameral parliamentary system comprises:

The Eerste Kamer (Senate), of which 75 members are elected for four years by members of the provincial assemblies; And the Tweede Kamer (Second Chamber of the States-General) of which 150 members are elected for four years by

direct universal suffrage.



Political Representation

Composition of the Tweede Kamer (in November 2023):

- -37 seats PVV (Party for Freedom)
- -25 seats GL-PvdA (Green Left-Worker's Party)
- -24 seats VVD (People's Party for freedom and democracy)
- -20 seats NSC (New Social Contract)
- -9 seats D66 (Democrats 66)
- -7 seats Farmer-Citizen Movement (BBB)
- -5 seats CDA (Christian Democratic Appeal)
- -5 seats SP (Socialist Party)
- -3 seats Denk
- -3 seats CU (Christian Union)
- -3 seats Forum for Democracy (FvD)
- -3 seats SGP (Reformed Political Party)
- -3 seats PvdD (Party for Animals)
- -2 seats Volt
- -1 seat JA21

Composition of the Eerste Kamer (on 1st June 2021):

- 12 seats VVD (People's Party for Freedom and democracy)
- 3 seats FVD (Forum for Democracy)
- 9 seats CDA (Christian Democratic Appeal)
- 8 seats GroenLinks (GreenLeft)
- 7 seats Nanninga Group
- 7 seats D66 (Democrats 66)
- 6 seats PvdA (Labour Party)
- 5 seats PVV (Party for Freedom)
- 4 seats SP (The Socialist Party)
- 4 seats ChristenUnie (ChristianUnion)
- 3 seats PvdD (Party for the Animals) - 2 seats 50PLUS (50PLUS)
- 2 seats SGP (Reformed Political Party)
- 2 seats Otten Group
- 1 seat OSF (Independent Senate Group)

Female representation:

In the government: 7/16 Tweede Kamer: 61/150 Eerste Kamer: 30/75

Next general elections: in

2028